A Sister’s Promise

A Sister’s Promise by Renita D’Silva

A Sister’s Promise is predominantly set in a claustrophobic village in rural India (not a criticism, those are the author’s words).  Sharda and her little sister Puja have been estranged for many years.  Puja is living in London and struggling with her teenage son, Raj; whilst Sharda worries about her daughter Kushi’s desire to change the world from her small village.

Kushi has been pushing for more rights for people in the villages when she is hit by a car and ends up in hospital.  How Sharda and Puja became estranged unfolds through a series of letters written by Sharda to her mother. Given the claustrophobic nature of the villages portrayed in this book, the outcomes are not surprising but gently and considerately told.
Renita D’Silva writes beautifully and the story unfolds like a flower.  I find her storytelling very moving and was in tears on a couple of occasions whilst reading this book.
Highly recommended, particularly for lovers of India and family sagas.  Not one for the thriller readers!
Metline Reader rating: It’s a Jubilee line read from me 4.5* stars
More about this book

Two sisters. Bound by blood. Torn apart by love.

 My sister – the glue that held our family together and the gatekeeper to the memories of our shared childhood. 
The girl I made a pact with – to protect each other for life. 
The woman who destroyed my family, my future. 
And the only one who can save my daughter.
 Set against the dramatic backdrop of India, A Sister’s Promise is a powerful, emotional tale of family secrets, love and the ties that bind sisters together.

Acknowledgments

My thanks to Renita D’Silva, @Bookoutre and @Netgalley for the opportunity to read an Advance Readers’ Copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

A Sister’s Promise is available from Amazon 

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)