Telling tales in the playground!

 

I really enjoyed this book which tells the tale of Rachel Young and her run-ins with the playground mafia and her limpet, jealous “friend” Penelope.

The dynamic between Penelope and Rachel is funny, infuriating and so realistic. Although I do think that Rachel is a bit of a doormat and needed to stand up more to Penelope. I did enjoy it when Rachel managed to branch out and find other friends beside Penelope – you can’t really understand why she just didn’t tell Penelope to go away. Penelope and Rupert even have the audacity to invite themselves along on a holiday. Seriously, I would have left them at the airport to fend for themselves rather than getting a larger car to accommodate everybody!!

I started this book, not knowing that it was the 2nd in a series, having received an advance copy from the publisher via Netgalley. After about 15% in, I discovered that there was more to the Penelope/Rachel saga than was being discussed, so I decided to read the 1st book (this wasn’t really necessary (apart from to explain who some of the characters were), and I enjoyed the 2nd book so much more). The only thing I didn’t like was the very last part of the ending, but it didn’t really detract from the story at all.

I really enjoyed this book – it’s laugh out loud funny with some funny characters. It’s an easy read and certainly will ring true in places for many of us playground attendees.

MetLineReader Rating: 5**** Metropolitan!!!

More about this book

New term. New dramas. New friendships.  And that’s just the parents…

After a year of country living, Rachel Young is finally getting into the swing of things. Her four kids are happy and content at the village school, and she’s managed to navigate the choppy (shark-infested) waters of the playground mafia.

Or… so she thought.

When playground mum Penelope Kensington moves herself and her kids into Rachel’s home, after discovering husband Rupert has been having an affair, Rachel knows she must ask them politely to leave. The problem is, Penelope never takes no for an answer.

As Rachel tries to deal with Penelope, she also meets new school mum Melanie. Melanie is a breath of fresh air, but her arrival sends ripples of gossip through the playground. Melanie has a few secrets in her closet, and it seems she’s not the only one…

Hilarious and entertaining, with characters you won’t forget in a hurry, fans of Fiona Gibson, Kerry Fisher and Tracy Bloom will love this book.

Acknowledgements

My thanks to Bookoutre and Netgalley for an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.   The Misadventures of a Playground Mother is available for purchase from Amazon

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)