Life in a Gilded Cage

Matilda Duplaine
Beautiful, evocative and mesmerising. And that's just Matilda Duplaine. From the outset, Thomas Cleary is drawn into the lives of the LA rich and famous like a moth to a flame. Lily's father, Joel Goodman, has just died yet she lets him into her inner circle.... where he falls in with David, Carole et al. Once I'd got    past the unlikelihood of this happening, I began to enjoy the book. The relationship between Thomas      and Matilda unfolds slowly and you want to watch it from behind your fingers as you know it's going to  go horribly wrong. The hiccups in the story were well handled so I was left rooting for Matilda. 

The book is intriguing and a little Gatsby-esque (young man of limited means seeks to fit in with the rich and famous set). But I wanted more. Whilst I enjoyed this book, I felt it didn't go deep or dark enough. I kept waiting for something awful to happen (been reading too many psychological thrillers!!). 

MetLineReader Rating: 4* (Piccadilly)
More about this Book

Family secrets. Forbidden love. And the true price of wealth.

Thomas is a small-town boy and when Lily invites him to a dinner party, he gains access to the exclusive upper echelons of Hollywood society. As he enters a world of private jets and sprawling mansions, his life and career take off beyond his wildest dreams.

Then he meets Matilda Duplaine.

Beautiful and mysterious, Matilda has spent her entire life within the walls of her powerful father’s Bel-Air estate and Thomas is immediately entranced by her. But what starts as an enchanted romance soon threatens to destroy their lives and the lives of everyone around them.


Acknowledgments
Thank you to Harlequin UK for the advance reader's copy which I received in exchange for a fair and honest review.   The Gilded Life of Matilda Duplaine is published in the UK on 8th October 2015 and is available from Amazon.

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)