Neighbours and family breakups

Good Neighbor
Described as "a heartwarming story about new love, second chances, and finding a place to call home", I'm afraid that I am sitting on the fence with this one.  I didn't not enjoy it - but I didn't love it OR hate it. For me I felt there was something missing. Even the big reveals didn't really move me - I felt that the characters were lacking in depth. The relationship between Izzy and her neighbor were the strongest but too simplistic. sadly it fell flat for me. 

Others have clearly enjoyed it, over 50% reviewers on Goodreads have given it 4 or 5 stars. 

Metline Reader Rating: Somewhere around the Victoria line 3*

More about this book:
Izzy Lane never thought of herself as a liar. In fact, she's always played by the rules. She's an excellent mother, has loyal friends, and a rich career as a school counselor. Fresh from a new divorce, however, Izzy feels like she needs a little fun. So when, on a whim, she starts a blog it seems like a rather benign indulgence. But as her online quips begin to gain traction, Izzy makes a slip. Somehow a new boyfriend winds his way into the picture. The problem? Izzy makes him up.

What, at first, feels like a harmless fib quickly spins out of control and Izzy must figure out how to balance fantasy and reality. Keeping up appearances while managing an absent ex-husband, two very nosy friends, a toddler son, and full-time job soon prove impossible, and Izzy feels utterly lost. It’s only when her long-time neighbor and surrogate mother, Mrs. Feldman, re-enters her life that Izzy begins to see the mess she’s made. And it’s with Mrs. Feldman’s guidance that Izzy learns to face reality, find comfort in new norms, and open herself up to the possibility of real love.

Acknowledgements
My thanks to St Martin's Press and Netgalley for an advance readers copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.  The Good Neighbor is published on October 13th and is available on Amazon
Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)