A Hidden Past

81fJI6iNi2L._SL1500_

The Girl with No Past was an easy read and had shadows of “gaslighting”, a form of abuse where the victim is drawn to question their own judgement, memory and sanity.

The characters were well-drawn and the story flowed well. The use of alternate chapters, a device often employed, helped to reveal the modern story whilst letting the past unfold. There were many twists and turns and was surprised by the ultimate tormentor.

Sadly, I wasn’t as excited by the book as I’d hoped. Given the thrillers I have read over the past year, I was expecting something much darker.   Leah’s past really wasn’t sufficiently bad for all the trauma that she had put herself through. I must have read too many dark thrillers, thanks to my friends at THE Book Club…
MetlineReader Rating: 3 (Victoria)

About this book
Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive – kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until – longing for a connection – she meets Julian. For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life.

Then, on the twentieth anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed the life Leah has created.

But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.

Acknowledgments

The Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft is published by Bookouture on 15th October.  It is available to purchase from Amazon.  
I received an advance copy from netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)