What does The Widow know? 

 

Oh My word. What a book. WOW!!!! I’m so glad that I received a review copy of this marvellous book – I could not put it down. Stop what you’re doing, beg, borrow or bribe a friend to lend your their advance copy!! If not, just count down the days to January 14th and then breathe. One of the best books I’ve read all year!! 6* from me!!!
The Widow is a cleverly crafted book told from the multiple perspectives of the Widow (Jean), the policeman (Sparkes) and the journalist (Kate). It’s clear from the outset that the Widow’s husband is a rather unsavoury character. As the story twists and turns, you start to wonder just HOW unsavoury he can be — and also if the story really is the one that’s being painted. Fiona Barton has a simple yet fluid writing style that allows the story to flow easily whilst drawing you deeper into the tale. If I was a critic I’d probably said “an extraordinary tour-de-force”, but as I’m not I’ll just say that it’s bloody good!!!

MetLineReader Rating a massive 5* – Metropolitan 

More about the Book

We’ve all seen him: the man – the monster – staring from the front page of every newspaper, accused of a terrible crime.

But what about her: the woman who grips his arm on the courtroom stairs – the wife who stands by him?

Jean Taylor’s life was blissfully ordinary. Nice house, nice husband. Glen was all she’d ever wanted: her Prince Charming.

Until he became that man accused, that monster on the front page. Jean was married to a man everyone thought capable of unimaginable evil.

But now Glen is dead and she’s alone for the first time, free to tell her story on her own terms.

Jean Taylor is going to tell us what she knows.

Du Maurier’s REBECCA meets WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN and GONE GIRL in this intimate tale of a terrible crime.

My book of the year so far’ C. L. Taylor, author of THE LIE

The ultimate psychological thriller‘ Lisa Gardner

Acknowledgements

The Widow is published by Random House UK, Transworld publishers on 14th January. My thanks to Random House who provided me with an advance proof copy in exchange for an honest review.

It is available for pre-order on Amazon UK (ask for it on your Christmas list, it’s really worth it!!)

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)