A perfect marriage…

  
Wow what a stunner! An absolute MUST-READ! 

So good I missed my tube stop not once but twice!!

It’s very well written – you can feel the evil coming at you from the page. Unsettling and disturbing, this book will draw you in and take over your life. You will want to do nothing but read it. You will probably be holding your breath for most of the book!! 

MetLineReader Rating 5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 with a 🍒 on top. 

I think this will be a 2016 SENSATION 💥 

Highly highly recommended, especially if you like your psychological thrillers to be dark.. 

About the book

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?  A debut psychological thriller you can’t miss!

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do.

You’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.

Sometimes, the perfect marriage is the perfect lie. 

Brilliant, chilling, scary and unputdownable.’ – Lesley Pearse, bestselling author of Without a Trace

Behind Closed Doors gives us a glimpse into the realities of a ‘perfect marriage’, with addictive and heart pounding moments guaranteed to have you looking at your friends and neighbours differently.’– Margaret Madden, Bleach House Library

Acknowledgements 

Behind Closed Doors by B A Paris is published by Mira (UK) on 11th February. I received an advance review copy in exchange for a fair and honest review. Behind Closed Doors is available to purchase from Amazon UK.

Advertisements

Paris? Why Paris?

  

 A young confused American girl (who had lost her fiancé to the Vietnam war) moves to England to be the companion to a raucous Lady who may or may not be the “lost” Duchess of Marlborough. A novelist turns up at the house, seeking to write the biography of the Lady – who vehemently denies being said Duchess.
Some years later, a young American lady and her mother make a trip to England to tie up some loose ends and undertake a property transaction. Shortly before the trip, the daughter finds an old book. Left to her own devices, she investigates the background to the book and the local history – including an abandoned house…

I must admit that this book was surprisingly good. After a very slow and confusing start (note to self – it’s not a thriller), it came together rather well. There were a few moments where I really didn’t know where it was going – or whether to continue, but I’m glad I did.

All the threads do come together – in a rather satisfying way – and the importance of Paris doesn’t become apparent until about 3/4 the way through the book. I’m glad I persisted…   Even when confused, I was intrigued enough to find out more.

I’ll See You in Paris is recommended for lovers of 20th century historical fiction / aristocracy / eccentricity and those who find amusement in the juxtaposition of Americans and the English …. 😱😆
About this Book

Michelle Gable’s I’ll See You in Paris winds together the lives of three women born generations apart, but who face similar struggles of love and heartbreak.

After losing her fiancé in the Vietnam War, nineteen-year-old Laurel Haley takes a job in England, hoping the distance will mend her shattered heart. Laurel expects the pain might lessen but does not foresee the beguiling man she meets or that they’ll go to Paris, where the city’s magic will take over and alter everything Laurel believes about love.

Thirty years later, Laurel’s daughter Annie is newly engaged and an old question resurfaces: who is Annie’s father and what happened to him? Laurel has always been vague about the details and Annie’s told herself it doesn’t matter. But with her impending marriage, Annie has to know everything. Why won’t Laurel tell her the truth?

The key to unlocking Laurel’s secrets starts with a mysterious book about an infamous woman known as the Duchess of Marlborough. Annie’s quest to understand the Duchess, and therefore her own history, takes her from a charming hamlet in the English countryside, to a decaying estate kept behind barbed wire, and ultimately to Paris where answers will be found at last.

Acknowledgements 
I received a free review copy from St Martin’s Press via netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.  I’ll See You in Paris is published on 9th February and is available from Amazon UK. 

A Disappearing Act? 

  What a stunner!! Lots of twists and turns, never sure who to trust and an anonymous narrator. Read it in just one day -raced through it and held my breath for most of the time. Fabulously twisty-turny, The Girl You Lost is the perfect can’t put it down thriller. A must-read.
MetLineReader Rating: 5🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 with a 🍒 on top!! A MUST-read! 

About this book

Eighteen years ago your baby daughter was snatched. Today, she came back. 

Eighteen years ago, Simone Porter’s six-month-old daughter, Helena, was abducted. Simone and husband, Matt, have slowly rebuilt their shattered lives, but the pain at losing their child has never left them. 

Then a young woman, Grace, appears out of the blue and tells Simone she has information about her stolen baby. But just who is Grace – and can Simone trust her? 

When Grace herself disappears, Simone becomes embroiled in a desperate search for her daughter and the woman who has vital clues about her whereabouts. 

Simone is inching closer to the truth but it’ll take her into dangerous and disturbing territory. 

Simone lost her baby. Will she lose her life trying to find her? 

A sinister and darkly compelling psychological thriller from the No.1 bestselling author of The Girl With No Past. 

Acknowledgments

I received an advance review copy from the publisher Bookouture in exchange for a fair and honest review. The Girl You Lost is published on Friday 5th February and is available from Amazon UK.

Shattering of illusions….

IMG_0633

Well this what not what I expected!! Having read Christie Barlow’s two previous books, I was expecting a light-hearted caper, perfect for reading after a rather dark thriller…

Whilst it was the perfect pick-me-up for the first quarter of the book – with the will-they/won’t-they romantic feelings and misunderstandings that we love in this kind of book – after that it became a much deeper story, with a lots of feel-good factor too!

With tales of secrets, estrangement, family history and friendship , reading this story was an absolute pleasure. Christie Barlow has a fast, fluid style that makes for easy reading – like a cosy chair with a big hot chocolate, you just don’t want it to end.
Far from the easy read I’d expected, I had tears running down my face as I felt for Kitty and her sense of being lost. I loved her from the start and I enjoyed her tale.
A good read, full of fun, laughter and a bit more depth than the beautiful cover might suggest. More please, Christie Barlow.

A fabulous 4⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ from me.

About this book

New home. New life. New beginning. Love affairs can blossom in the most unlikely places . . .

When Kitty inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother, a farm in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, it’s time for fresh air and a fresh start. Up to her elbows in chickens and ponies, Kitty soon realises there’s an awful lot to learn about farming. Still, at least the locals seem friendly, not least her handsome neighbour Tom…

But just as Kitty is beginning to find her feet, and the possibility of love, the discovery of a long-hidden diary, by a mysterious character called Violet changes everything. Who is Violet and what is her message for Kitty? As Kitty fills in the lost pieces of her family jigsaw and discovers some shocking revelations, will her countryside dream and blossoming relationship fall to pieces? When it comes to life in the country, nothing is ever quite as it seems …

A heart warming, moving and funny tale, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

Acknowledgements

Kitty’s Countryside Dream is written by Christie Barlow and is published by Bookouture on 25th February and is available for pre-order from Amazon UK.  I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a professional review.