Shattering of illusions….

IMG_0633

Well this what not what I expected!! Having read Christie Barlow’s two previous books, I was expecting a light-hearted caper, perfect for reading after a rather dark thriller…

Whilst it was the perfect pick-me-up for the first quarter of the book – with the will-they/won’t-they romantic feelings and misunderstandings that we love in this kind of book – after that it became a much deeper story, with a lots of feel-good factor too!

With tales of secrets, estrangement, family history and friendship , reading this story was an absolute pleasure. Christie Barlow has a fast, fluid style that makes for easy reading – like a cosy chair with a big hot chocolate, you just don’t want it to end.
Far from the easy read I’d expected, I had tears running down my face as I felt for Kitty and her sense of being lost. I loved her from the start and I enjoyed her tale.
A good read, full of fun, laughter and a bit more depth than the beautiful cover might suggest. More please, Christie Barlow.

A fabulous 4⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ from me.

About this book

New home. New life. New beginning. Love affairs can blossom in the most unlikely places . . .

When Kitty inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother, a farm in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, it’s time for fresh air and a fresh start. Up to her elbows in chickens and ponies, Kitty soon realises there’s an awful lot to learn about farming. Still, at least the locals seem friendly, not least her handsome neighbour Tom…

But just as Kitty is beginning to find her feet, and the possibility of love, the discovery of a long-hidden diary, by a mysterious character called Violet changes everything. Who is Violet and what is her message for Kitty? As Kitty fills in the lost pieces of her family jigsaw and discovers some shocking revelations, will her countryside dream and blossoming relationship fall to pieces? When it comes to life in the country, nothing is ever quite as it seems …

A heart warming, moving and funny tale, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

Acknowledgements

Kitty’s Countryside Dream is written by Christie Barlow and is published by Bookouture on 25th February and is available for pre-order from Amazon UK.  I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a professional review.

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)