Paris? Why Paris?

  

 A young confused American girl (who had lost her fiancé to the Vietnam war) moves to England to be the companion to a raucous Lady who may or may not be the “lost” Duchess of Marlborough. A novelist turns up at the house, seeking to write the biography of the Lady – who vehemently denies being said Duchess.
Some years later, a young American lady and her mother make a trip to England to tie up some loose ends and undertake a property transaction. Shortly before the trip, the daughter finds an old book. Left to her own devices, she investigates the background to the book and the local history – including an abandoned house…

I must admit that this book was surprisingly good. After a very slow and confusing start (note to self – it’s not a thriller), it came together rather well. There were a few moments where I really didn’t know where it was going – or whether to continue, but I’m glad I did.

All the threads do come together – in a rather satisfying way – and the importance of Paris doesn’t become apparent until about 3/4 the way through the book. I’m glad I persisted…   Even when confused, I was intrigued enough to find out more.

I’ll See You in Paris is recommended for lovers of 20th century historical fiction / aristocracy / eccentricity and those who find amusement in the juxtaposition of Americans and the English …. 😱😆
About this Book

Michelle Gable’s I’ll See You in Paris winds together the lives of three women born generations apart, but who face similar struggles of love and heartbreak.

After losing her fiancé in the Vietnam War, nineteen-year-old Laurel Haley takes a job in England, hoping the distance will mend her shattered heart. Laurel expects the pain might lessen but does not foresee the beguiling man she meets or that they’ll go to Paris, where the city’s magic will take over and alter everything Laurel believes about love.

Thirty years later, Laurel’s daughter Annie is newly engaged and an old question resurfaces: who is Annie’s father and what happened to him? Laurel has always been vague about the details and Annie’s told herself it doesn’t matter. But with her impending marriage, Annie has to know everything. Why won’t Laurel tell her the truth?

The key to unlocking Laurel’s secrets starts with a mysterious book about an infamous woman known as the Duchess of Marlborough. Annie’s quest to understand the Duchess, and therefore her own history, takes her from a charming hamlet in the English countryside, to a decaying estate kept behind barbed wire, and ultimately to Paris where answers will be found at last.

Acknowledgements 
I received a free review copy from St Martin’s Press via netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.  I’ll See You in Paris is published on 9th February and is available from Amazon UK. 

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)