Shout it loud!!! 


Wow wow wow. Words cannot do this book justice. The book of 2016. A must read.

Late last year, I was privileged to receive an advance review copy of Shtum from the publishers, Orion. I cannot express my delight adequately. I have not stopped talking about this book, it will be a phenomenon (and deservedly so). Shtum defies explanation and is a must-read.

Jem Lester has opened my eyes (and those of many others) into the world of autism. At once heartbreaking, yet uplifting, this is a tale rooted in reality — from the highs and lows of looking after a boy with autism, family relationships and getting the right support for your child. Jem Lester’s writing style is warm and engaging, so easily flowing that you’ve become utterly absorbed in it and don’t want to stop reading.

MetLineReader Rating 6 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ off the map

About this Book

Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son Jonah has severe autism and Ben and his wife, Emma, are struggling to cope.

When Ben and Emma fake a separation – a strategic decision to further Jonah’s case in an upcoming tribunal – Ben and Jonah move in with Georg, Ben’s elderly father. In a small house in North London, three generations of men – one who can’t talk; two who won’t – are thrown together.

As Ben battles single fatherhood, a string of well-meaning social workers and his own demons, he learns some difficult home truths. Jonah, blissful in his innocence, becomes the prism through which all the complicated strands of personal identity, family history and misunderstanding are finally untangled.

Perfect for fans of David Nicholls, THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME.

Acknowledgements 

My thanks to the publisher, Orion, for an advance review copy in November last year in exchange for a fair and honest review. I’ve been shouting off the rooftops about this book ever since.

Shtum is available on Amazon UK for preorder and is published on April 7th.

Please buy it, it’s such an amazing book! 

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)