The Cheshire Set

51-dw1jtzll-_sy445_ql70_    51ve5guhtxl-_ou02_ac_ul320_sr212320_   1605311033010036-country-rivals-by-zara-stoneley

I stumbled across this new-to-me author through my great friends at THE Book Club, #TBConFB.  Zara Stoneley has written several books, although I had the opportunity to read the third in the Tippermere series, Country Rivals.

If you’ve not read any Zara Stoneley before, and it sounds up your street (or down your country lane) then perhaps I can suggest reading Stable Mates (book 1) and Country Affairs (book 2) before reading the delightful Country Rivals, which is book 3 in the series.  Country Rivals can be read as a standalone, but I think the tale will develop better if you read all three…

About these books

Welcome to tranquil Tippermere, an idyllic village nestled deep in the Cheshire countryside. Home to lords and ladies, horsemen and farmers, and plenty of secrets and scandals…

A great treat for readers who love their books jam-packed with sexy men and horses
Bestselling author Fiona Walker

A hilarious, sexy rom com perfect for fans of Jilly Cooper!

MetLineReader review of Country Rivals:

I really enjoyed this tale of Lottie, Pandora, racy Xander and lovely Rory. Set in a backdrop of a country estate in Cheshire, this took me back to my childhood with echoes of both Downton Abbey and Jilly Cooper’s Riders!

Zara writes a fast-moving and fun tale, with lots of different quirky characters such as Elizabeth (Lottie’s grandma), Billy (Lottie’s dad), Jamie (the location scout) and Tab (the stable girl). There’s a list at the start which was helpful but a little off-putting/daunting, however such is Zara’s style that I never needed to refer back to it!

A story of making things work – through trying times, difficult situations and thinking that the grass is always greener – it had more depth than I anticipated… and I even shed a tear on one occasion.

A great tale, I will be looking out for more from Zara Stoneley.
MetLineReader Rating 4 🏇🏽🏇🏽🏇🏽🏇🏽

Acknowledgements

Country Rivals is published by Bookouture and is available to purchase from Amazon UK. My thanks to THE Book Club, #TBConFB, for the review copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)