Sisterly love 💓💓👭💓💓

29920081

Grace and her friend Charlie are inseparable as children, having met on Grace’s first day at the school near her grandparents. Told in a series of Now and Then chapters, we see Grace and Charlie’s relationship ebb and flow, surrounded by a variety of characters including steady Dan and limpet Anna.

This book has so many unknowns it’s hard to know what to believe. Is Grace right to be afraid of her own shadow? What happened when she was 18? What happened to her parents? What happened to Charlie? Why is Grace so drawn to Anna?

The tale unfolds and it’s so well written and pacy that I was surprised to read that it’s Louise Jensen’s debut novel. This book deserves to do well. I will be looking out for more from this author.

MetLineReader rating  5 💓💓👭💓💓 Metropolitan!

About this book

“I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me …”

Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s last words, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie’s father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie’s sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home.

But something isn’t right. Things disappear, Dan’s acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace’s mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie … or was there?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go, and The Girl With No Past.

Acknowledgments

I received an advance copy from the publisher, Bookouture, in exchange for a fair and honest review.  The Sister by Louise Jensen is published on Thursday 7th July (today) and is available from Amazon UK

Advertisements

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)