Spiralling out of control 

Nina is falling apart. This book shows us how far she is falling — at times it’s hard-hitting and difficult to read.
Both Nina’s behaviour and the way she is treated are abhorrent and a sad reflection of the modern times we live in. 
Well-written, funny and heart-breaking all in one sentence, Nina is Not OK is an insight into how a teenager’s life can spiral out of control.

I was keen to read this book as I find the author rather amusing as a stand-up comic. Often I find that this humour does not translate into the written word. Happily this wasn’t the case with Nina Is Not OK – Shappi Khorsandi can write!!  

MetLineReader rating 4* 🍷🍸🍹🍾

About this book

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn’t?

Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all.

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her…

A dark and sometimes shocking – coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Louise O’Neill.

Acknowledgements 

Nina is not OK by Shappi Khorsandi is published by Ebury Press on 28th July. I received an advance copy from  in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Advertisements

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)