Blocks and bricks

51kwuedttwl

@keefstuart @littlebrownUK

About this book

Discover a unique, funny and moving debut that will make you laugh, cry and smile.

Meet thirtysomething dad, Alex
He loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn’t understand him. Something has to change. And he needs to start with himself.

Meet eight-year-old Sam
Beautiful, surprising, autistic. To him the world is a puzzle he can’t solve on his own.

But when Sam starts to play Minecraft, it opens up a place where Alex and Sam begin to rediscover both themselves and each other . . . 

Can one fragmented family put themselves back together, one piece at a time?

Inspired by the author’s experiences with his own son, A Boy Made of Blocks is an astonishingly authentic story of love, family and autism.

MetLineReader review

Simply stunning. 

I found A Boy Made of Blocks a little difficult to get into at first because it reminded me so much of the wonderful Shtum by Jem Lester and I kept drawing parallels between Ben and Joshua and Sam and Alex.

Once I got past this (with a book in between) I began to enjoy The Boy for its own simplicity and beauty.

A sad tale but told with such warmth that it becomes a happy tale where you like all the characters — despite not wanting to.

I don’t want to spoil it but I would say that this is a must-read. It might not seem like your cup of tea from the blurb but it is well worth a read. An insight into the world of autism, relationships and for seeing people for who they really not who we think they are.

A must-read, along with Shtum (but not too close together or your heart will break in two)

MetLineReader rating 5🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Acknowledgements 

A Boy Made of Blocks is published by Sphere, an imprint of Little Brown Book Group on 1st September and is available for pre-order from Amazon.  I was delighted to receive an advance review copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Author: metlinereader

I am obsessed with books.  In fact, I'd rather be reading than doing anything else.   I enjoy trying out new books and new authors; I do like to "mix and match" genres.  I often have access to books before they are published and would welcome the opportunity to review most books... just not horror or sci-fi, please :)